Shake-and-bake-style low carb chicken drumsticks

The ground pecans looked similar to shake and bake but didn’t get particularly crispy. They reheat nicely in the toaster oven. This is a recipe I’ll be playing with to get the flavour and texture I want.

plain chicken drumsticks

homemade seasoned salt (equal parts garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, and paprika)

ground pecans

herbs, fresh or dried (I didn’t have any, but next time I’ll add some sage and thyme if I’ve bought more)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a plastic bag or bowl with a lid, combine seasoned salt with ground pecans and herbs. Toss the chicken legs in the mixture. Arrange on a baking sheet. Bake for 30 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Mine turned out underseasoned – I maybe had 1 1/2 tsp of the seasoned salt and 1/4 cup pecan meal for 10 chicken drumsticks so I’ll start at 2 tsp next time. 

