Basic low carb dough

Obviously the linked recipe is a bit short on details, but I’m intrigued by the experimentation the poster was doing. I’ve been really enjoying the last gluten-based bread I made – today I had it with tuna salad. I’m intrigued to try others, but I don’t find a lot of these recipes in my searches.

version 1 (for 10 slices, 2.9 g carbohydrate, 1.5 g fiber, 1.4 g net carbs):

6 T Vital Wheat Gluten
4 T Flax seeds, ground (I used flax seeds measured after grinding, so probably less than the recipe intended)
3 T Oat Fiber
2 T splenda (the recipe called for Polydextrose, but I don’t want to buy yet another low carb sweetener for now)
2 1/2 tablespoons oil
1 tsp. baking powder (the recipe called for 1/2 tsp. yeast but I don’t have any and yeast doesn’t reliably rise low carb baked goods because there’s so little sugar for the yeast to feed on)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup water

Combine the dry ingredients then add the water and oil and stir until combined. The batter wasn’t very thick. I poured the mixture in a greased bread pan and baked it at 350 for over an hour but the centre wasn’t showing any signs of firming up. I turned off the oven and left it in there while it cooled. The centre stayed sticky – I think that there was just too much water for the amount of other ingredients. I toasted it well and ate it with tuna salad and it was still pretty good.

version 2 (for 10 slices, 4.2 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 2.2 g net carbs):

6 T Vital Wheat Gluten
4 T ground flax seeds
4 T Oat Fiber
4 T full-fat soy flour
1 T splenda

2 1/2 tablespoons oil
1 T baking powder (I meant to go to 2 tsp. but added a third tablespoon by mistake)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup water

Combine the dry ingredients then add the water and oil and stir until combined. The batter was thicker but not kneadable like wheat-yeast dough. I scraped the mixture in a greased bread pan and baked it at 350 for about an hour. It didn’t rise much, but it tastes good and slices nicely.

I think that my next experiment will be to return to the yeast the original recipe called for and maybe add 1 tsp. of blackstrap molasses for flavour and to give the yeast something to feed on.

This version feels like a good texture to spread on a baking pan and make pizza – I’ll report back after I try that. (It occurs to me that I could make thai turkey pizza with my leftover thanksgiving turkey. Thai chicken pizza, which a restaurant near me sells, has satay sauce instead of tomato sauce, roasted garlic, pickled bell peppers, onions, and chicken. It’s awesome.)

version 3 (for 10 slices, 4.7 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 2.7 g net carbs):

6 T Vital Wheat Gluten
4 T ground flax seeds
4 T Oat Fiber
4 T full-fat soy flour
1 T splenda

2 1/2 tablespoons oil
1 T baking powder (I meant to go to 2 tsp. but added a third tablespoon by mistake)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup lukewarm water
5 g molasses
1 tsp. yeast

Combine the lukewarm water with the molasses and the yeast. Let the mixture sit for 5 minutes or until it’s foamy. Add the remaining ingredients and stir for a couple minutes to combine and develop the gluten. Scrape the mixture in a greased bread pan. Let it rise for an hour and then bake it at 350 for about an hour. I like the yeast flavour but it didn’t rise as much as the last version. I can see why I’ve seen recipes that use yeast and baking powder together.

