I forgot to buy yeast on the weekend, so I modified this recipe for low carb bread machine bread to use baking powder instead of yeast and to bake in the oven. I used 2 tsp. baking powder instead of 1 tsp. yeast and added a pinch of salt. I kneaded it by hand, formed it into a ball, and placed it on a greased baking sheet. I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes, reduced the temperature to 325 and baked it for another 20 minutes. It’s on the dense side, but sliced thinly and spread with butter it was certainly the closest thing to wheat bread that I’ve had since I started eating low carb. I bet it’d make good bread crumbs, too. With the splenda, the recipe didn’t taste especially sweet – just a similar level of sweetness to multigrain wheat bread. I might try it with 1 Tbsp. next time.

