Rainbow trout

I wanted to fry the trout so that the skin would come out fairly crisp. I ate this skin and all and it was excellent. (Farmed Canadian rainbow trout is easily available to me, it costs about $10 per lb, and from everything I’ve read it’s relatively environmentally benign and sustainable.)

1 trout fillet (mine was about 10 oz)

oil

salt and pepper

lemon

Heat the oil in a stainless steel pan for which you have a lid over medium heat. (I find that cast iron holds on to a fishy smell so I don’t use it for fish.) Put the fish skin side down in the pan. Season the flesh with salt and pepper. Put the lid on and reduce the heat to low. Cook until the fish is as done as you’d like – I cooked it until it was opaque in the middle. Remove to a plate. Squeeze as much lemon as you’d like on the fish. 

