Roast chicken with low carb gravy

Next time, I’m going to season the chicken and vegetables with some of the fresh sage from my garden. I’ll probably use more vegetables next time, too – they may be the best part.

4 lb half chicken (this happened to be how the farm I went to sold it – I liked it)

1 large onion, thickly sliced

4 carrots, peeled and cut into thick sticks

2 stalks celery, halved

vegetable oil

salt and pepper

wine (I used sake)

broth (I used homemade beef broth)

guar gum

Preheat the oven to 375. Arrange the celery, carrots, and onion in a roasting pan. Place the half chicken on the vegetables, skin side up. Drizzle oil over the chicken then sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper. Put the roasting pan in the oven and then reduce the heat to 325. Roast for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, or however long it takes for the breast meat to hit 180 F and the thigh meat to hit 190 F. Every 1/2 hour, baste the chicken and add water to the pan if you need to to prevent the juices and vegetables from burning. Set the chicken and vegetables aside.

Pour the juices into a pot. Add some wine to the roasting pan and scrape up as much as you can, then add it to the pot. Add stock and bring to a simmer. Add guar gum, 1/4 tsp at a time, until it’s a bit less thick than you’d like. I went with 3/4 tsp. and it was a touch runny, but since it was my first time doing this I was worried I’d over-thicken it. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

