Chile lime almonds

This is based on various recipes online and what I had on hand. They are seriously tasty. A lot of recipes call for an egg white – I might try one of those variations next time. I saw one that called for keffir lime leaves, which also sounds brilliant. (I bet lemongrass almonds would also be great.)

2 cups almonds

1 Tbsp. oil, butter, or other fat (I used olive oil)

juice and zest of 2 limes

1 tsp. smoked paprika

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, or to taste (I’ll go for 1/2 tsp. next time, although my cayenne is a bit old so when I replace it I’ll cut back to 1/4 tsp.)

black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all ingredients in a large baking pan – I recommend a Pyrex lasagna pan. Stir well. Bake for 10 minutes. Stir well. Bake for 10 more minutes. Stir well and taste. Add more salt or other seasonings if you think it needs more. (I didn’t.) If you want them more cooked, continue cooking, checking every 5 minutes, until they’re to your liking. I liked them at 20 minutes. There was still a touch of lime juice, but it evaporated or the almonds absorbed it. Eat warm or let cool and store in a glass jar.

