Coconut flour bread

My reasoning for replacing honey with yogurt is that both add moisture and acidity (but, of course, only one is good for a low carb diet).  I already find coconut flour recipes a bit sweet so I didn’t want to replace it with any stevia. When this first came out of the oven, it was very crumbly and I thought it was a flop, but it improved as it cooled and I actually like it quite a bit. It’s very buttery – I bet it’d be great with diced cheese baked into it. (It reminds me of this recipe in a way.) I’ve been eating it with jam.

6 eggs

2 tbsp yogurt

1/2 cup melted butter

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup coconut flour, sifted (don’t skimp on the sifting – this recipe uses less liquid so it was a pain to get the lumps out after I failed to sift it)

1 tsp baking powder

In a medium-sized bowl mix eggs, butter, yogurt, and coconut flour until well blended. Let the mixture sit for 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350. Add the baking powder to the coconut flour mixture and mix well. Pour the batter into a small greased loaf pan (9x5x3 or smaller). Bake for about 40 minutes. (It took 1 1/2 hours in my toaster oven – I’ll try it in my real oven next time and see if the time is closer to what the orignal recipe recommended. I baked it until a knife inserted in the middle came out clean.) Remove from pan and cool on rack.

