Butter

I haven’t been using that much heavy cream for the past couple weeks so I ended up with most of a litre that expired. (It didn’t have any off flavours so I made whipped cream with some of it last night – I just wanted to use it or preserve it before it develops them.)

This worked pretty well. I’m keeping it in the fridge and I’m going to cook with it since I’m not confident that I squeezed out enough whey for it to keep well at room temperature. (I washed it as described here http://www.americastestkitchenfeed.com/do-it-yourself/2011/06/how-to-make-cultured-butter/. I’m going to try making cultured butter next time.)

This makes for some fairly greasy dishes, but I did come away with less dry skin on my hands 🙂 I’d be unlikely to buy  heavy cream specifically for this, but it is a good recipe to have for when I have heavy cream nearing its expiry date.

2 cups heavy cream

1/4 teaspoon salt (optional)

 
 
  1. Pour cream into a food processor or blender. Process for 10 minutes, or until the butter separates. Strain off the liquid. Season to taste with salt if you like. Press butter into a small bowl with the back of a spoon to further remove liquid.
