Cold Satay noodles

This is my first time trying tofu shirataki noodles (as opposed to traditional shirataki noodles) – they have a much better texture. One thing I found while making this is that since the noodles don’t have starch like normal noodles, the sauce doesn’t thicken when you toss it with the noodles so the sauce should have been thicker. I recommend leaving out the water or reducing the amount. This would be better with tofu, scrambled eggs, chives or green onions, etc. but I’m due for a trip to the grocery store so I was using what I have on hand. I ate the whole package of noodles – if it was part of a meal, you might be able to get 2 servings out of a package.

This makes way more than you need for a package of noodles, but it’ll keep in the fridge for a while. I fried up some cauliflower and added some of the sauce with some extra peanut butter because I decided it was too thin and tangy. I ate it with fried tofu. I think I might prefer it with cauliflower instead of shirataki noodles.

  • 1 package fettucini-style tofu shirataki noodles
  • 1/4-1/3 cup smooth or chunky peanut butter, softened
  • 2 packages stevia, or to taste
  • 1/4 cup warm water (see note)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, grated with a microplane
  • 1 tsp. fresh ginger, grated with a microplane
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 1 teaspoon chile garlic sauce
  • 3 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • A handful of shredded carrots
Serves 4

PREPARATION

Bring a small pot of water to a boil. Meanwhile, rinse the noodles. Once boiling, drop in the pasta and cook for 2-3 minutes. Drain and reserve.

Meanwhile, whisk together the peanut butter, stevia and warm water in a large bowl. Once they’re combined, whisk in the Tamari, garlic, lime juice and zest and hot sauce. While whisking continuously, pour in the oil in a steady stream to complete the dressing.

Combine the noodles and carrots. Add as much dressing as you like. Eat.

