Low-Carb Cauliflower and Veggie Pepperoni Pizza

Don’t skip or skimp on the salt in the crust – mine was a bit bland. I might add some crushed garlic or spices to the cauliflower mixture next time, too. I also think that it would be better to form a lip with the cauliflower mixture so that the edge isn’t the thinnest part. As it was, the edge was a bit burned before the middle was completely cooked. This was a decent pizza, but I think I preferred the miracle flatbread crust, if it’s fair to compare them. I ate the leftovers for breakfast after reheating it in the toaster oven.

2 cups grated cauliflower (about 1/2 a large head)
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 cups shredded full fat mozzarella cheese
2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
olive oil
tomato sauce
veggie pepperoni (Yves is the only kind I can get here – I hope Tofurky will come out with veggie pepperoni since when I was eating high-carb I loved their veggie pepperoni pizza)
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
Fresh basil leaves, optional

  1. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper or silpat, oil the silpat with olive oil, and preheat oven to 425ºF.
  2. Grate the cauliflower using a food processor with a grater attachment until you have two cups of cauliflower crumbles. Place in a large bowl and microwave for 4 minutes, or until soft. (The original recipe said 7 – I’m sure it varies widely depending on your microwave.) Remove from the microwave and let cool.
  3. Mix in the egg, one cup mozzarella, parmesan cheese, and salt and pepper. Once combined, pat into a 10-inch round on the prepared pizza pan. Spray lightly with nonstick spray and bake for 10 to 15 minutes, or until golden.
  4. Top the pizza with the sauce, the veggie pepperoni, the remaining mozzarella, the garlic, and the red pepper flakes. Bake in the oven until melted and bubbly, another 10 minutes. Top with basil before serving.
