Iced black tea

Since I enjoyed the Nestea Zero (but have no intention of paying that much for iced tea) I looked up a copycat recipe. (For cost comparison, this cost $0.30 for the tea, $0.22 for the lemon juice, and $0.11 for the stevia, so $0.62 for 2 L. Commercial iced tea varies a lot in price depending on whether you get powder, concentrate, a large bottle, or a small bottle, but it’s never that cheap.) This one is supposed to be a Snapple copycat (and obviously I only followed the recipe loosely). To be more to my tastes, I’d use more tea and less stevia, but I think that as-written this is a good recipe to make when I have guests since it’ll suit a wider variety of tastes.

2 quarts (8 cups) water
10 g loose black tea, or 2 regular tea bags
1/4 tsp stevia
1/3 cup bottled lemon juice

1. Bring water to a rapid boil in a large saucepan.

2. Turn off heat, add tea, cover saucepan and let the tea steep for 1 to 2 hours.

3. Pour the stevia into a 2-quart pitcher, and then strain in the tea. The tea will still be warm, so the stevia will dissolve easily.

4. Add the lemon juice. Chill.

Makes 2 quarts.

