Cream cheese snacks rolled in nori

This seemed like a great idea since I like cucumber sushi rolls but am obviously not eating much rice these days. I was worried the nori would be too squishy so I decided to toast it first, which made it crumble when I tried to spread the cream cheese on it. Oh, well – I ate the squishy, crumbly mess anyway and it tasted good. I suspect something like spreading the cream cheese on the cucumber strips than wrapping the cucumber strips in nori might be more successful, but I’ll play around with it. Also, if I had any ripe avocado I would have included that.

1 sheet nori (I buy big packs of it at the Chinese market)
4 tablespoons cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons green onions, cut into thin strips

1/2 tsp. wasabi powder (or more to taste – I used 1/4 tsp. and could barely taste it)

2 ribbons from a cucumber
Directions:

Put the nori sheet on a counter or wooden board.
Mash the cream cheese with the wasabi until soft.
When the cream cheese is spreadable, spread thinly with a knife over the nori sheet.
Lay the cucumber and green onion strips near the edge of the cream cheese filling.
Roll up the nori carefully but firmly. The nori should have softened by now, and you should have a nice sushi-sized “sausage”. With a sharp serrated knife carefully slice the roll into as many pieces as you want.

