Veggie bacon stuffed mushrooms – version 2

This turned out really well – I’ll have to eat the tempeh version again to figure out which I prefer.

The grocery store near me puts marks items 50% off if they’re nearing the expiry date. For some reason, there was a ton of fake meat marked down when I was at the grocery store yesterday. The expiry dates varied from early July to October. Fake meat freezes well, so I picked up a bunch. I fried half a package of Yves veggie bacon strips with eggs this morning, and the other half a package I used to make this.

This time, I used an organic cream cheese that is spreadable at refrigerator temperature and, not surprisingly, the filling oozed more than the block cream cheese I normally use. Both are good and each has its advantages (easier to stir the organic type, you can heap the block cream cheese more without losing any).

6 large mushrooms, stems removed

1 bulb young garlic or 1 clove mature garlic, chopped

2 green onions, chopped

1/2 pkg Yves veggie bacon

4 oz. cream cheese, softened

~3/4 cup grated mozzarella

Arrange the mushrooms on a baking pan and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, blend the remaining ingredients.

Spoon the cream cheese mixture into the mushrooms and bake for 30 minutes or until the cheese is browned and the mushrooms are tender.

