Miracle flatbread

The second time I made this I clued in to the fact that my cast iron roti/tortilla press would make these easier and quicker to roll out. It’s relatively small so I divided the batch in 4 instead of 3. (This recipe looks similar, although I’ll try its slightly different proportions next time to compare.)

I bought psyllium husks in bulk from the health food store and ground them to a powder in my blender. (They had psyllium powder, too, but buying the husks came in a smaller bag, which seemed prudent since I’ve never tried them before.) I’m not sure what I think of this yet – the texture is a touch gritty (I’m not sure if it’s from the coconut flour or the psyllium – I might try sifting the dry ingredients next time) but they have a nice mild coconut flavour and taste a bit sweet to me. (I used butter so the coconut flavour would be more pronounced with unrefined coconut oil.)

I didn’t have any digestive issues after eating 1 flatbread (I’ve read that psyllium can cause digestive upset) but my normally high-fiber diet may have insulated me from the effects.

I didn’t add garlic powder or any additional flavourings this time.

After I’d cooked the first flatbread according to this recipe, I topped it with salsa and grated cheese and baked it in the toaster oven. Again, the slightly gritty texture and coconut flavour stood out. It was still the best low-carb pizza crust I’ve had, I think I just need to adjust the toppings to compensate. One of my favourite pizzas has thai peanut sauce instead of tomato sauce, hot peppers, roasted garlic, and mushrooms. I think that combination would go better with a coconut flavoured crust.

I spread garlic butter (minced garlic mixed with softened, salted butter) on the second flatbread and then toasted it in the toaster oven. It was great. (I love garlic bread.)

I also want to try eating this with curry (which is always good with coconut), and flavouring it similarly to naan. (Brushing it with garlic butter after it’s cooked, using nigella or sesame seeds in the batter, replacing some of the hot water with yogurt.)

I’m also curious to make and freeze breakfast wraps wrapped in this flatbread – scrambled eggs, salsa, grated cheddar, potentially veggie bacon, and potentially refried beans made from black soybeans.

60 g coconut flour

2 Tbsp. psyllium husk powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

40 g butter or coconut oil

250 (1 cup)  very hot, almost boiling water

garlic powder & herbs (optional)

In a medium bowl, stir together the dry ingredients. Add the butter or coconut oil (the boiling water will melt it) and hot water to the dry ingredients and stir until it turns into a ball and comes away from the sides of the bowl. Make sure it is well mixed.

Divide into 3 balls. Roll these balls between 2 silpats or sheets of parchment paper to a thickness of 5 mm. Dry fry in a pan until golden on each side. Give them a little longer than you would think as they can be a bit doughy if undercooked.

