Quick Spicy, Salty, Crunchy Nori Snacks

This was my first try at a nori snack – there are loads of different recipes online. (And I sometimes buy the little packets of nori snacks at the health food store or Chinese market.) The original recipe called for adding water to the curry paste mixture and said it coated 3 nori sheets – I found it coated 5 without the water. I wonder if her sheets are bigger. Anyway, since I wanted to make a bunch in the toaster oven I folded the sheets several times rather than once – of course, they wouldn’t dry out properly and ended up chewy. I ate them anyway and the flavour was good. I’m going to wait for a cool day when I don’t mind turning on the oven and make them properly.

1/2 heaping tsp (8 ml) Thai green curry paste (I used a brand I buy at the Chinese market)*

1/2 tsp (7.5 ml) vegetable oil

1 Tbsp (45 ml)  soy sauce

5 nori sheets (the kind you buy to make sushi at home)

Preheat oven to 250F (120  C).

In a small bowl, mix together the curry paste and oil until you have a smooth paste.  Add the soy sauce and whisk until well combined.

Take the nori sheets one at a time and lay out on a cutting board.  Using a pastry brush, brush one half of the inside with the curry paste mixture, then fold the nori back in half to cover it.  Brush the top of the rectangle, flip it over and brush the bottom so that both outside surfaces are coated.  Cut the nori into 6 relatively even strips (cutting perpendicular to the fold).  Gently lift the strips and place on the cookie sheet in a single layer (they can be close together as long as they’re not overlapping). Continue until all of the curry mixture is finished (you should have enough for 3 nori sheets).

Bake in preheated oven 15-20 minutes, rotating the sheets about halfway through, until the strips are dry, beginning to curl up on the edges, and almost brittle (they can have a bit of flexibility left in the middle; this will dry out as they cool).

Remove the strips to a plate  to cool.  Store in an airtight bag or container for up to 3 days.  Makes 1 serving.

