Mr. Peanut Waffles

These are pretty good, although of course waffles without real maple syrup are a bit of a tease 🙂 I know, there are lots of sugar free table syrups but I’m a maple syrup from trees girl. Fresh, they’re not bad plain. Reheated in the toaster oven, I ate them with whipped cream (sweetened with vanilla stevia), stevia jam, or low-carb chocolate custard. Once I want to slow down on losing weight, I might consider sliced banana. I’m also thinking of making a cinnamon-xylitol-erythritol-butter mixture to put on them.

1 cup (230 g) smooth natural peanut butter
3 large eggs

1 Tbsp. oil (optional – I thought the mixture looked too thick and it did smooth out nicely with the oil. It might depend on the peanut butter you use – I used Mara Natha.)
1 Tablespoon vinegar (I used cider vinegar)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt (omit if using salted peanut butter)
1 packet sweetener (I used stevia)

Beat together peanut butter, eggs, and oil until smooth. Add the remaining ingredients.

Meanwhile, preheat and butter your waffle iron. I put mine on medium (3/5). Mine is nonstick and the nonstick is in good condition but I still find that waffles stick without butter.

Spoon the mixture into your waffle iron and bake for ~4 minutes, or until lightly browned. It probably made about 6 waffles on my 4 waffle cuisinart – I was cautious about how much batter I put in in the first batch as I always am after cleaning up waffle batter. I was surprised by how quickly they cooked – my first batch was a touch dry.

