Light rhubarb jelly

Once again, I didn’t bother canning the jelly – I’ll put all but the one I’m working on in the freezer. I was skeptical that my blender would blend rhubarb, but once some of it started blending there was plenty of liquid and it blended nicely.

It didn’t set – my fault, my 8 heaped cups of rhubarb produced almost 4 cups of juice and I used it all – so I ended up using it to make rhubarb-ade, a lovely beverage like lemonade with a bit of rhubarb flavour. (I just added water to taste.) I might use some of it to sweeten and flavour iced tea.

Makes about 4 x 236 or 250 ml jars (depending on chosen sweetener)

8 cups (2000 ml) finely chopped rhubarb, about 3 1/2 lb (1.6 kg)

juice of 1 lemon

1 pkg (49 g) BERNARDIN® No Sugar Needed Fruit Pectin

1 tsp. stevia (I started with 3/4 tsp and found it too tart so I whisked in more)

• Place 4 clean 250 or 236 ml mason jars on a rack in a boiling water canner; cover jars with water, and heat to a simmer (180°F/82°C). Set screw bands aside; heat lids in hot water, not boiling (180°F/82°C). Keep jars and lids hot until ready to use.

• Purée rhubarb in a blender or food processor. Pour purée into a dampened Jelly Bag or cheese cloth –lined sieve suspended over a deep container; squeeze to extract as much juice as possible. Add lemon juice to rhubarb juice; measure 3 cups (750 ml). If necessary, add water to reach required amount.

• Stirring constantly, bring juices to a boil over high heat. Tie lemon rind and whole allspice in a large square of cheesecloth creating a spice bag; add to juice. Whisk in No Sugar Needed Fruit Pectin until dissolved. Add stevia. 

o Stirring frequently, boil 3 minutes. Remove from heat. Skim foam.

