Chocolate almond milk

Today I felt like chocolate milk. I didn’t bother with the guar gum because the last time it didn’t seem to make the almond milk separate that much less, but you could certainly add guar gum here if you prefer.

110 g whole almonds

pinch salt

1 Tbsp. vanilla extract

~2 oz unsweetened chocolate

1/4 tsp. stevia extract

Soak the almonds for a few hours or overnight. Drain.

Fill the soymilk maker with water to the lower line. Add the almonds and run the soymilk maker on the Multigrain setting.

Strain the almond milk, setting the pulp aside for compost, feeding chickens, using in crackers, or making the almond-flax crumbs I posted a few days ago.

Whisk in the remaining ingredients (the heat of the almond milk is plenty to melt the chocolate). 

This separated and looked rather awful in the fridge, but it still tasted good when I stirred it up and poured myself a glass.

