Almond milk and almond crumbs

I have a SoyQuick soymilk maker. It makes a cooked almond milk that’s a bit thicker and smoother than the horchata I posted previously. I always think it’s a shame to compost the strained almond pulp. It reminded me of the seed mush I’ve been making crackers with, so I decided to try making crackers with it. The crackers were unsuccessful – they fell apart and tasted dry and bland. I still think that the pulp has potential as an endurance cracker addition, but maybe 1/4-1/2 cup in the recipe would be a better idea. (I’d freeze excess the pulp in packages the size I wanted to use.)

In any case, I crumbled the already crumbly crackers and put them in the freezer. I’m going to try them as a bread crumb substitute.

110 g almonds (blanched or unblanched, as you prefer – unblanched will make a slightly darker almond milk

flavourings for the almond milk (I prefer 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. to 1/4 tsp. stevia, and 1/4 tsp. guar gum to thicken)

1 1/2 Tbsp. flax

1 1/2 Tbsp. water

flavourings for the crackers (I just used salt)

Soak the almonds in water for 4 hours or up to a day. (Refrigerate for longer periods.) Drain the almonds.

Add water to your soymilk maker up to the lower fill line. Add the drained almonds. Run the soymilk maker according to the instructions in the manual.

When the cycle completes, strain the almond milk and set the pulp aside in a bowl to cool. Whisk the flavourings into the almond milk.

When the pulp has cooled a bit, stir in the water and flax. Spread it as thinly as you can on a silpat or parchment paper-lined baking sheet using a spatula. Season to taste. Bake at 325 for 1 hour, or until the pulp is completely dry. Turn off the temperature and leave the baking sheet in the oven until it cools. Crumble with your hands and store in the freezer.

