Sundried Tomato & Pine Nut Seitan

The original recipe made 4 sausages, but they must have been huge since the dough weighed a bit more than 800 g before cooking. In any case, I went the lazy route and made a single roast. I think that this is my first time using my silicone ties.

The texture is a bit loose and I think a bit of salt would improve the recipe, but I do like the flavour. I suggest pulsing the pine nuts and sundried tomatoes separately because pureeing them together left some fairly large chunks.

After the seitan cooled, I fried slices of it in butter and ate it with horseradish.

Preparation time: 80mins
for the seitan

  • 1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted (I was a bit short so I topped up with cashews)
  • ½ onion
  • 1 red chilli (I used homemade pickled jalapenos
  • 75g (2½ oz) sundried tomatoes (the recipes didn’t specify in oil or not – I used about 60 g of sundried tomatoes not in oil because it was what I had)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable stock (I used Better than bouillon mushroom)
  • 2 tbs tomato paste
  • 250g (½ lb.) gluten flour (wheat gluten)
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • cheesecloth
  • kitchen twine

for the cooking broth

  • 6 cups vegetable stock (I used water and marmite)
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
  • 2 bay leaves

By hand or in a food processor finely dice/mince the toasted pine nuts, red onion, chilli and sundried tomatoes. (I rehydrated the sundried tomatoes before I did this and used the excess liquid as part of the broth. I found that the sundried tomatoes weren’t chopping that well so I ended up adding the oil.)

Whisk the stock with the olive oil and tomato paste until smooth.

Combine the gluten flour with the dried thyme, paprika and processed pine nut/sundried tomato mixture in a large bowl. Slowly add the stock mixture to the dry mixture, combine until you have a smooth, elastic dough.

Roll out the dough to form a roast, place onto a piece of cheesecloth, roll tightly and tie at intervals with the silicone ties.

Bring the stock, garlic and bay leaves to boil in a deep-sided pan, add the roast and turn down the heat, allow to gently simmer for 45-50 minutes until the sausages are firm to the touch.

Once the roast is cooked remove from the pan and allow to cool before carefully removing the cheesecloth. {Roast can be stored in the refrigerator for up to one week in an air tight container with the cooking liquid}

