I picked up some Cocoa Camino unsweetened chocolate at the Superstore last night. I’m going to try this recipe first, and then maybe buy some cocoa butter and try the dairy free recipe here. I was tempted to go out and buy chocolate molds, but I’m going to try making it by just spreading it thinly on parchment paper and only invest in chocolate molds if I find I’m making it a lot.

(As an aside, I’m a bit annoyed by all the cocoa powder + coconut oil “chocolate” recipes onine. This is not chocolate!)

Last night’s post-dragon boat snack was a bunch of asparagus, fried in oil in a cast iron pan until tender and browned in a few spots, salted and dipped in mayo. Perfect! (This is based on my love for barbecued asparagus – a cast iron pan gives a similar effect but is easier.)

My first attempt at making stevia-sweetened chocolate was a complete bust – I added 20 drops of orange stevia to 33 g of cocoa camino unsweetened chocolate. I do think I need to cut it with some cocoa butter. In any case, to try to salvage it I added 10 g of heavy cream. I spread it on a silpat and put it in the freezer to firm up.

I’m still working on wrapping my mind around the differences in the composition of Lindt chocolate and cocoa camino baking chocolate. Why is there so much more fiber in the lindt chocolate?

20 g Lindt Excellence 90% Cocoa Supreme Dark 11.00 g fat, 6.00 g carbohydrate, 2.5 g fiber, 3.50 g net carbs, 2.00 g protein, 120 calories
20 g cocoa camino baking chocolate 10.50 g fat, 3.50 g carbohydrate, 0.7 g fiber, 2.80 g net carbs, 2.45 g protein, 119 calories

