Creamed asparagus

My grandma has trouble chewing, so I made this for her. Normally I would have just used a roux to thicken the cream, but I decided to try egg yolks to make it more LCHF-friendly for me. I think it turned out quite well. I was actually kind of surprised that the sauce didn’t curdle (if it had, I would have just eaten it myself).

12 oz asparagus, cut into 1″ pieces

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1 Tbsp. butter

2 egg yolks

1/2 cup whipping cream

salt and pepper

lemon juice

Heat the oil and butter in a frying pan over medium heat. Add the asparagus and cook, stirring frequently, until the asparagus is as tender as you’d like. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Meanwhile, beat the cream with the yolks. When the asparagus is tender, reduce the heat to low. Add the cream-yolk mixture. Cook, stirring constantly, until it thickens. Remove to a serving dish. (At this point, I put the mixture in the food processor and pulsed the mixture until it was just a bit chunky. It did taste good this way, although it looked pretty grim.) Taste and add more salt and pepper and/or a bit of lemon juice if it needs it.

