Oyster mushroom and cheese frittata

I wrote this down as I made it – I’m sure that the original recipe is excellent as well, but I made substitutions according to what I had on hand. The first time I made this was at a friend’s house. She had only plastic-handled nonstick skillets so I couldn’t finish it in the oven. I put a lid on it and cooked it over very low heat so that it’d cook through without getting too brown on the bottom. It was way quicker at home in a cast iron pan.

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1/2 cup sliced oyster mushrooms
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 3 ounces havarti cheese, diced
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350˚. Heat the tablespoon of oil in an 8-inch cast iron skillet over medium heat. Add green onions and cook until soft, about 2 minutes.

Add mushrooms and cook until browned and moisture evaporates, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and zucchini and cook another 2-3 minutes until lightly browned. Pour egg mixture into skillet, giving it a quick stir to distribute the vegetables. Top with the cheese. Remove from heat and place in oven for 15-20 minutes, until cooked through. Slide frittata out of pan, onto a cutting board, and cut into wedges.

Serves 4

