I’ve always been resistant to meal planning, having the feeling that my life and appetites aren’t predictable enough for it. After reading Planning to Eat Local and surveying the contents of my fridge, I think that it might be time to reconsider. I live a 5 minute walk from an excellent farmer’s market. (And I live about the same distance from an excellent Asian market if Saturday morning grocery shopping doesn’t happen.) At this time of year, it has lots of low carb vegetables like spinach, asparagus, and beet greens. Year round, it has free-range eggs (that I can buy by the flat, no less) and lots of different cheeses.

I’d also like to take meal planning as an opportunity to scale recipes to no more than 2 or 3 servings. I’m still struggling with getting bored with foods that I make in big batches. (Cream of Jalapeno soup, I’m looking at you!)

Anyway, if or when I put this plan into effect (not today – today I’m slowly eating fairly bland foods to try to avoid having the nausea return), I’ll share my meal plans, grocery lists, and comments about how the process goes.

(I’m lucky when it comes to green vegetables that I never have to worry about wasting them – I have a pet rabbit who eats a lot of greens.)

Not too surprisingly after barely eating yesterday, this morning my ketostix test registered at the second-highest level for the first time. (I’ll take feeling well and a lower level any day.)

