Custard

This is based on various recipes online, as well as what I had on-hand. Duck eggs have more yolk than white, compared to chicken eggs. If you use chicken eggs, you might want to include only one white. I ended up eating this with cinnamon because I found it a bit bland. I might add nutmeg next time since I love eggnog (which is essentially just thin nutmeg-flavoured custard).

When I finished the custard 3 days after making it, I think that the vanilla flavour and stevia sweetness had improved. I ate it with some Mixed berry jam with stevia, which offered a nice tangy contrast.

1 cup heavy cream

1 vanilla bean

2 duck eggs

pinch salt

1/16 tsp. stevia (my smallest measure is 1/8 tsp. so I used half of that)

Slice the vanilla bean lengthwise. Pour the heavy cream in a pot and add the vanilla bean. Bring to a simmer over medium heat.

Meanwhile, beat the eggs with the stevia. When the heavy cream is simmering, slowly whisk it into the eggs.

Reduce the heat to medium-low. Pour the mixture back into the pot and cook, whisking constantly, until it’s thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. Pour the mixture through a strainer into the container you want to serve it from. Chill.

Edit: I either changed too much at once or cooked the custard too quickly and ended up with oddly-flavoured scrambled eggs. (Since I haven’t read anything to suggest that stevia is bad for dogs I strained the custard and gave the scrambled eggs to my dogs, who seemed very happy with the arrangement.) Anyway, the attempt was going to be a slightly tangy eggnog flavoured custard, with the recipe doubled, 7 medium chicken eggs instead of 4 duck eggs (should have used yolks only or mostly yolks only), 1/2 a nutmeg grated in, 1 1/2 Tbsp. of vanilla extract, and 1 cup each of heavy cream and 10% fat yogurt instead of 2 cups of heavy cream. I stirred the yogurt in after the custard was cooked. Anyway, I still think the flavours have potential but need to work on the execution.

