Stuffed bell peppers (or mini meatloaf)

I had a love-hate relationship with stuffed peppers when I was a kid and my mum made them regularly. I thought the peppers were too mushy but loved the sauce and the filling. If you like the peppers soft, cook them before adding the filling. (Ground round gets rubbery if it cooks for too long.) Her filling was mostly rice, but I’ve had ones in restaurants that were mostly sausage and cheese, so I decided to try making my own low-carb, high-fat version with Yves ground round.

I had 2 small yellow bell peppers, so I made 6 muffin cup-sized meatloafs with the rest of the fake beef mixture. The mini meatloafs are awesome – I ate all 6 with some of the tomatoes from the bell pepper pan. I’ll have the stuffed peppers as leftovers.

For filling or mini meatloaf:

1 package Yves ground round

1/2 cup cream cheese, softened

~1 cup grated cheddar cheese

1 duck egg or 2 medium chicken eggs

For sauce and peppers:

1/2 large can tomatoes (around 14 oz. tomatoes)

4-6 bell peppers, depending on their size

Combine the ground round, cheeses, and egg.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Cut the top off each bell pepper and pull out any seeds and white membrane. Arrange the peppers  in a baking pan. Stuff each pepper with the ground round mixture and top each pepper with its top. Pour the tomatoes into the pan around the bell peppers.

Bake until the filling is heated through, probably about 2 hours depending on the size of your peppers. (Argh, too long! I should try these in the slow cooker.)

For the mini meatloaf:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Grease muffin cups with butter. Fill with the fake meat mixture. Bake for 25 minutes or until the mixture is heated through.

