If you’re thinking of adopting this lifestyle, this post on Peter Attia’s blog is a much more helpful guide than anything I’ve posted. These are the steps I took, based loosely on what he recommends:

  1. Reduced sugar consumption in the form of sucrose and high fructose corn syrup to the small amount that’s in my 90% cocoa chocolate. I pretty much did this overnight and found that on a high-fat diet the lack of sugar didn’t bother me. I use stevia as a sugar substitute in things like smoothies.
  2. Swap “simple” carbohydrates for “complex” ones.  I’ve had a high fiber diet for a long time, so all this involved was getting rid of starchy vegetables like peas and corn.
  3. Limit fruit to 1-2 servings per day, avoid any dried fruits (e.g., raisins, dried mangoes, and the like), and don’t drink any fruit juice. I’m currently limiting my fruit to 1-2 1/2 cup servings of frozen, unsweetened berries per day (fruits aren’t in season here so frozen fruit tastes better). I do use some lemon, lime and pure cranberry juices.
  4. Reduce overall carbohydrate intake to one serving per day. I don’t eat anything from the grain products food group currently, except things like the small amount of starch that is in clear sauces at Chinese restaurants.
  5. With each step above, increase your intake of fat (over protein or other carbohydrates).  For example, eat more eggs, more cheese, more nuts, more avocados, more olive oil, more coconut oil, more high fat over low fat yogurt.
  6. (Added step) If or when you choose to drink alcohol, choose lower carbohydrate sources of alcohol such as dry wine or hard liquor such as vodka over beer. I haven’t given away the 5 beers in my fridge yet, and I had a Strongbow on the weekend, but certainly I’m thinking carefully before having alcoholic beverages. On average, I have about 1 alcoholic drink per week.
  7. (Added step) Increase the salt in your diet. This might not apply if you have high blood pressure, but mine’s always been low-normal and I tend not to feel well if I don’t eat extra salt on this diet. (Usually in the form of olives, for me.)
