Pecan flour is actually really inexpensive at bulk barn – about 1/3 the price of pecan halves. I followed this recipe, using 150 g of ground pecans instead of the pecan halves, unsweetened flax milk instead of the water (1 g carb per cup, so negligible for the 1/3 cup in the recipe), and generic Splenda as the sweetener. I baked it in a 9×9 Pyrex pan for about 30 minutes. It’s good. I might add some lemon zest to the batter next time. They remind me a bit of bran muffins, which makes me think of adding a cup of blueberries for a take on Tim Horton’s cranberry blueberry bran muffins. That would increase the total carbs to 6.2, the fiber to 3.1 grams, and the net carbs to 3.1 g per 1/12 recipe. (Using the 4.4 total carbs, 2.8 grams fiber, 1.6 g net carbs as a baseline and adding the nutrition for blueberries.)

