Beef and Pork Meatloaf

Based on this recipe. I served this with Roasted brussels sprouts.

I eliminated some of the spices because I was cooking for someone who is sensitive to several herbs and spices. Of course, I found it a bit bland. The texture is a touch crumbly, but I like that I don’t notice the flavour of the coconut flour at all. My favourite meatloaf recipe is Good Eats meatloaf – I’ll use the seasoning mixture from there next time. (Eating it with horseradish helped with the blandness.)

vegetable oil
1 medium onion, roughly chopped
1 bunch green onions, roughly chopped
5 cloves garlic
2 carrots, roughly cut to fit in the food processor
4 stalks celery, roughly cut to fit in the food processor
Salt and black pepper
1 lb ground beef
1 1/2 lb ground pork
1 extra large egg, beaten
1/4 cup coconut flour
3 oz tomato paste
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

  1. Pulse the onion, green onions, garlic, carrots, and celery until everything is fairly small.
  2. Heat some vegetable oil in a frying pan. Add the vegetable mixture. Season with salt and pepper, and cook until softened.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, add the onion mixture, beef, pork, egg, and coconut flour.
  4. In a separate small bowl, mix together the tomato paste, paprika, and Worcestershire.
  5. Add the tomato mixture to the beef mixture.
  6. Using your hands, mix the beef mixture until well-combined. Place the mixture into a baking pan, forming it with your hands into a loaf.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees F for 1 hour 30 minutes to 2 hours, or until the internal temperature registers 185 degrees. (I left it a bit too long so it was at 195 degrees when I took it out of the oven. It was a touch dry, but OK.)
  8. Remove the meatloaf from the pan, placing it on a cutting board. Let sit for 10-15 minutes before slicing.
