Low Carb “Peanut Butter Cup” Squares 

These are enjoyable, but I think I can do better :-) The peanut butter mixture is a bit gritty (maybe a smoother brand of protein powder? mine is just the type that comes in bulk at the health food store). And the peanut butter mixture was too buttery and not peanut buttery enough for me, so next time I’ll try 3/4 cup peanut butter and 1/4 cup butter. But these are pretty darned tasty anyway. (I think that next time I make these I’ll use the peanut butter fudge recipe from this brownie recipe instead.)

1/2 cup butter, softened (mine was salted)
2/3 cup low carb whey protein powder, vanilla flavor (I just had plain whey protein powder so that’s what I used)
1/2 cup powdered erythritol (omitted – I think this would make it too sweet for my tastes)
1/4 teaspoon stevia extract (I suggest reducing this if you use the erythritol)
1/2 cup natural sugar-free peanut butter (mine was smooth and salted)
Topping:
3/4 cup sugar-free chocolate chips (mine were sugar-sweetened 70% cocoa, so the carbs were higher)
2 Tablespoons natural sugar-free peanut butter (seemed a bit odd to me so I used butter)

Line an 11×7 baking dish with waxed paper.

In medium bowl, mix the butter, whey protein powder, erythritol, stevia and peanut butter together. Spread mixture in the bottom of prepared pan.

In Pyrex bowl in microwave, melt chocolate chips with the peanut butter, stirring until smooth. Pour melted chocolate over peanut butter mixture and spread evenly to cover top.

Refrigerate for at least an hour before cutting into squares. Keep in the refrigerator for snacking.

Makes 35 squares
Carbs per square: 1.3 g

