Chocolate Chia Seed Brownies

Wow – these are amazing. They’re very chocolatey and the bits of chia remind me pleasantly of chopped nuts. (I might add chopped pecans or walnuts next time.) I expect that the recipe is excellent as it was originally written with a cheesecake swirl, but I wasn’t in the mood for it. This is my first experiment with the erythritol and xylitol – I used the 1:2 ratio based on a post on Your Lighter Side as well. (I do have blackstrap molasses so if I decide to make these again and I find I missed the brown sugar flavour, I’ll just add a teaspoon of that.) The first time I made these I used 2/3 cup xylitol and 1/3 cup erythritol but I cut it back the second time because they were a bit too sweet for me the first time.

1 Tbsp chia seeds + 1/2 cup water
1 stick butter, melted
1/4 cup almond flour
1/4 cup flax seed meal (or coconut flour)
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/2 cup xylitol
1/4 cup erythritol
80 drops vanilla stevia (cinnamon stevia would also be nice)
4 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp sea salt (omitted because I used salted butter)
1/2 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, make the chia seed gel by mixing 1 tbsp chia seeds + water. Stir well and let sit for 20 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.

Grease an 8″ x 8″ baking pan. In a separate bowl, whisk together the chia gel, almond flour and flax seed. Add eggs and whisk to incorporate. Add (and mix just enough to incorporate) cocoa, butter, vanilla, xylitol, erythritol, stevia, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Pour the batter into the pan.

Bake for 35-50 minutes, or until a toothpick (or sharp knife) inserted in the center of the brownie pan comes out clean and the top looks slightly more dry.

Let rest for up to 24 hours. Slice and serve.

Makes 12 brownies.

Nutritional information per brownie: Calories: 182, Carbohydrates: 6 g, Fiber: 3.7 g, Net Carbohydrates: 2.3 g, Protein: 5.4 g, Fat: 16.8 g

